Facebook Twitter RSS
    Calumet College of St. Joseph Holy Cross Saints Indiana University South Bend Olivet Nazarene University Robert Morris University Roosevelt University St. Ambrose Saint Xavier University Trinity Christian College Trinity International University University of St. Francis
    Saint Xavier's Alex Barone was named the 2010-11 CCAC Division I Women's Basketball Player of the Year on Saturday.
    Saint Xavier's Alex Barone was named the 2010-11 CCAC Division I Women's Basketball Player of the Year on Saturday.
    Women's Basketball - DI - Sat, Mar. 5, 2011

    JOLIET, Ill. --- Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Division I Women's Basketball regular-season co-champions Olivet Nazarene University and Saint Xavier University also shared the spotlight when it came to the announcement of the 2010-11 CCAC award winners, which were released by the league office on Saturday afternoon.

    Both teams had three players earn a spot on the all-conference first team with Saint Xavier's Alex Barone (Joliet, IL) capturing player of the year honors and Olivet Nazarene's Doug Porter being named the league's coach of the year.
    Saint Xavier, which claimed the CCAC tournament championship with a 101-91 victory over Olivet Nazarene earlier on Saturday, also was recognized as the conference's Champions of Character team award recipient.

    Barone, who gained selection on the first team for the third straight year along with Indiana University South Bend's Katie Hacker (Indianapolis, IN), finished among the top eight players in the conference in no fewer than five categories. The senior guard ranked third in the league in scoring (15.0 points per game), assists (3.0) and steals (3.2), seventh in field goal percentage (.471) and eighth in free throw percentage (.696). She also averaged 4.0 rebounds per game.

    In conference games only, Barone turned in the highest averages in the league for assists (4.7) and steals (3.7).

    Other repeat selections on the first team included Olivet Nazarene senior forward Simone Coburn (North Chicago, IL), Saint Xavier senior guard Shalonda Young (Chicago, IL) and Robert Morris University senior guard Jerita Gordon (Chicago, IL), who was the league's freshman of the year four years ago.

    Newcomer Roosevelt University boasted the conference's freshman of the year in guard Casey Davis (Country Club Hills, IL). She ranked fifth in the league in scoring (14.4 ppg) and averaged 2.1 steals per contest.

    Besides Saint Xavier and Olivet Nazarene, Robert Morris was the only other team to garner more than one spot on the 10-member first team with two selections. Indiana South Bend and Roosevelt each earned one spot as well as two places on the seven-member second team, the same number as University of St. Francis.
    For the complete list of award winners, go to http://www.ccacsports.com/awards/8/7.php.