• Mar. 14 - Women's Basketball - DII - Saint Xavier vs Marian University - 52-66
  • Mar. 13 - Women's Basketball - DII - Saint Xavier vs Concordia University - 91-83
  • Mar. 13 - Women's Basketball - DII - Marian University vs St. Francis - 64-56
  • Mar. 11 - Women's Basketball - DII - Saint Xavier vs College of the Ozarks - 69-53
  • Mar. 11 - Women's Basketball - DII - Eastern Oregon University vs St. Francis - 48-51
  • Mar. 10 - Women's Basketball - DII - Saint Xavier vs Friends University - 96-66
  • Mar. 10 - Women's Basketball - DII - Tabor College vs St. Francis - 53-69
  • Mar. 10 - Women's Basketball - DII - Cardinal Stritch vs Concordia University - 56-75
  • Mar. 9 - Women's Basketball - DII - Saint Xavier vs Indiana University Kokomo - 100-61
  • Mar. 9 - Women's Basketball - DII - Purdue University Northwest vs Indiana University East - 80-85
Facebook Twitter RSS
Calumet College of St. Joseph Holy Cross Saints Indiana University South Bend Olivet Nazarene University Robert Morris University Roosevelt University St. Ambrose Saint Xavier University Trinity Christian College Trinity International University University of St. Francis
Saint Xavier's Kara Krolicki
Saint Xavier's Kara Krolicki
Womens Basketball DII - Tue, Feb. 28, 2017

CHICAGO --- Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference regular-season champion University of St. Francis and tournament winner Saint Xavier University gained the majority of the headlines when the league office announced its 2016-17 women's basketball honor roll Tuesday night.

St. Francis, the No. 1 ranked team in the nation, gained the most individuals on the 20-member all-conference squad with four selections, while No. 3 Saint Xavier was next in line with three.  The latter also was the only school to have two players named to the five-member first team.  St. Francis, meanwhile, had representation on each of the first two teams as well as the honorable mention list.

Cardinal Stritch University, Holy Cross College, Olivet Nazarene University and Purdue University Northwest were the only other schools to have multiple selections on the team with two choices each.  

The 20-member squad was broken down into the first two teams, both of which had five players on it, and the 10-member honorable mention group.

The first team was a near-match to that of last year with Purdue Northwest's Cassidy Deno (Otterbein, Ind.), Saint Xavier's Kara Krolicki (Mokena, Ill.) and St. Francis' Charnelle Reed (Chicago Heights, Ill.) all gaining the nods again this year.

The CCAC Freshman of the Year two years ago, Krolicki added CCAC Player of the Year honors to her resume this year after ranking among the top ten players in the league in no fewer than seven categories.  In 20 conference games played, she led the league in scoring (22.1 points per contest) and three-pointers made per outing (3.9), while ranking tied for second in three-point shooting percentage (.456).  She also was fourth in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.9), fifth in free throw percentage (.846), sixth in assists per outing (4.1) and ninth in steals per game (2.3).

Krolicki was a four-time CCAC Player of the Week selection, as well.

Krolicki's teammate, Maddie Welter (Arlington Heights, Ill.), was also recognized as one of the top performers in the league, being chosen as the CCAC Freshman of the Year.  Welter's 2.9 three-pointers made per league game was the third-best mark in the conference this year, while her .455 three-point field goal percentage ranked fourth.  She also averaged 11.2 points, 3.4 rebounds and 2.3 assists in 19 conference games.

Rounding out the list of individual award winners was St. Francis head coach Samantha Quigley Smith, who repeated as the CCAC Coach of the Year.  Besides winning the conference title, Quigley Smith guided her team to a perfect 29-0 regular season and the No. 1 ranking in the nation this year.

Cardinal Stritch University closed out the awards by being named the CCAC Champions of Character Team recipient.   

For the complete list of award winners, go to Awards.