• Oct. 22 - Women's Basketball - DII - Grace College vs Holy Cross - 78-65
  • Oct. 21 - Women's Basketball - DII - Elgin CC vs Judson - No Team Score
  • Oct. 19 - Women's Basketball - DII - Indiana - South Bend vs Lake Michigan College - No Team Score
  • Oct. 18 - Women's Basketball - DII - McHenry County College vs Judson - No Team Score
  • Oct. 15 - Women's Basketball - DII - Saint Xavier vs St. Francis - No Team Score
  • Mar. 12 - Women's Basketball - DII - Olivet Nazarene vs Mount Marty College - 76-98
  • Mar. 11 - Women's Basketball - DII - Olivet Nazarene vs Indiana Wesleyan University - 86-84
  • Mar. 11 - Women's Basketball - DII - Morningside College vs Cardinal Stritch - 84-65
  • Mar. 11 - Women's Basketball - DII - Saint Xavier vs Goshen College - 66-84
  • Mar. 10 - Women's Basketball - DII - Mount Marty College vs Purdue University Calumet - 73-69
Facebook Twitter RSS
Calumet College of St. Joseph Holy Cross Saints Indiana University South Bend Olivet Nazarene University Purdue University Northwest Robert Morris University Roosevelt University St. Ambrose Saint Xavier University Trinity Christian College Trinity International University University of St. Francis
Saint Xavier's Morgan Stuut was named the CCAC Women's Basketball Player of the Year for the second time on Saturday.
Saint Xavier's Morgan Stuut was named the CCAC Women's Basketball Player of the Year for the second time on Saturday.
Women’s Basketball – DII - Sat, Mar. 1, 2014

CHICAGO --- Roosevelt University's Casey Davis, Saint Xavier University's Morgan Stuut and University of St. Francis' Katie Gonnering continued their dominance in the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference in 2013-14 as evidenced by the three players again headlining the CCAC women's basketball postseason honor roll, which was announced by the league office Saturday night.

The trio earned first-team all-conference accolades for the third straight season with Stuut (Marcellus, Mich.) also being named the CCAC Player of the Year for the second year in a row.  They were joined on the five-member first team by Cardinal Stritch University's Julie Raeder (Sheboygan Falls, Wis.) and Olivet Nazarene University's Miranda Geever (Moline, Ill.).

One year ago, Stuut and Davis (Country Club Hills, Ill.) were also named NAIA First Team All-Americans, while Gonnering (Seymour, Wis.) was a second-team choice.   

Of the 13 CCAC institutions that sponsor women's basketball, ten had representation on the 20-member all-conference squad topped by CCAC regular-season and tournament champion Purdue University Calumet with four selections.  The Peregrines collected two spots each on the five-member second team and the 10-member honorable mention squad.

Tournament runnerup Olivet Nazarene University gained three nods with Geever on the first team and two honorable mention selections.

The rest of the squad was made up of two representatives each from Cardinal Stritch, Indiana University South Bend, Roosevelt, Robert Morris University and CCAC North Division champion Saint Xavier.  Calumet College of St. Joseph and Holy Cross College joined St. Francis with one selection each.

Stuut, a 5-10 junior forward, finished the conference season ranking in the top ten of no fewer than seven statistical categories topped by her No. 1 billing as the league's best rebounder averaging 13.4 boards per conference game.  She was also second in both scoring (21.6 ppg) and steals per game (2.9) and sixth in assists (4.3 per game).  Her other top marks came in field goal accuracy (.484), where she was tenth, and blocks per game (1.3), where she tied for tenth.

Besides being named a second-team all-conference pick, Purdue Calumet's Cassidy Deno (Otterbein, Ind.) was also recognized as the CCAC Freshman of the Year.  One of the top long-range shooters in the league, Deno ranked third in both three-point accuracy (.435) and three-pointers made (3.2 per game) in conference affairs.  She also tied for fourth with an .861 free throw shooting mark en route to ranking 11th in the league in scoring, averaging 17.9 points per game.

Deno was joined by her head coach, Tom Megyesi, as one of the individual award recipients.  The seventh-year Peregrine head coach was selected as the CCAC Coach of the Year for the first time for leading his team to both crowns.

Trinity Christian College was named the Conference Champions of Character Team award winner for the second year in a row.

For a complete listing of the conference award recipients, go to: http://www.ccacsports.com/awards/0/9.php